Board of Health

Board of Health

The County Board of Health acts as the policy-making body for the health department. This policy-making role includes allocating resources, adopting rules and regulations, and appointing and advising the health director. 

The Board of Health has eleven members whom County Commissioners appoint after consulting the health director. The board must have the following as members: a physician, a dentist, a pharmacist, an optometrist, a registered nurse, a veterinarian, a professional engineer, a County Commissioner, and three representatives from the general public. 

In general, County Board of Health members serve three-year terms. The County Commissioner member serves a term concurrent with his or her term as Commissioner. No Board of Health member may serve more than three consecutive three year terms. When a vacancy on the Board of Health occurs, the person chosen by the commissioners to fill the vacancy serves for the unexpired portion of the departed member’s term.



Board of Health Member

Email Address

Charles Lee, DVM – Chair

Dr. Robert Brown, MD

Marianne Evans, Pharmacist

Hope Haywood, County Commissioner

Dr. Daryl Hill, DDS

Julie Mabe, RN

Lyn Richardson, Community Member

Mack Summey, PE

Marty Trotter, Community Member

Cathy Waddell, Community Member

William Walker, OD – Vice Chair

*Email to Board of Health members routed through the Clerk to the Board

Board of Health Meeting Information


The Board of Health meets the second Monday at 6:00 p.m. during the months of January, March, May, July, September, and November at the health department.

A special meeting may be called during other months.  The public comment period will be limited to 15 minutes at the  beginning of the meeting.  If more time is required it will be at the discretion of the Board.  Each speaker must give his/her name both orally and in writing before speaking.  Speakers will be limited to 3 minutes.  Comments are to be directed to the Board as a whole and not to one individual member.  Response, discussion or action concerning issues raised during the public comment session will be at the discretion of the Board.  Speakers will be courteous in their language and presentation.  Speakers should focus on matters which concern public health.


2019 Meeting Schedule

Dates Subject to Change

• January - Monday, January 14
• March – TBD
• May - Monday, May 13
• July – TBD
• September – Monday, September 9
• November – TBD

Meeting Minutes 2018

January 25, 2018.pdf

March 8, 2018.pdf

May 14 2018.pdf

Meeting Minutes 2017

February 2 2017.pdf

March 13 2017.pdf

May 22 2017.pdf

July 24, 2017.pdf

September 11, 2017.pdf

November 13, 2017.pdf


Meeting Minutes 2016

January 11, 2016

March 14, 2016

May 9, 2016

July 13, 2016

September 12, 2016

November 14, 2016