Board of Health



Public Health BannerPreserve Protect Improve



Board of Health

Important Announcement: The January 10th Board of Health meeting will only be live streamed.

View Full Announcement 

Watch meeting live on YouTube

The County Board of Health acts as the policy-making body for the health department. This policy-making role includes allocating resources, adopting rules and regulations, and appointing and advising the health director. 

The Board of Health has eleven members whom County Commissioners appoint after consulting the health director. The board must have the following as members: a physician, a dentist, a pharmacist, an optometrist, a registered nurse, a veterinarian, a professional engineer, a County Commissioner, and three representatives from the general public. 

In general, County Board of Health members serve three-year terms. The County Commissioner member serves a term concurrent with his or her term as Commissioner. No Board of Health member may serve more than three consecutive three year terms. When a vacancy on the Board of Health occurs, the person chosen by the commissioners to fill the vacancy serves for the unexpired portion of the departed member’s term.



Board of Health Member

Email Address

Marty Trotter, Community Member – Chair

Dr. Robert Brown, MD - Vice-Chair

Marianne Evans, Pharmacist

Hope Haywood, County Commissioner

Dr. Amy Williams, DDS       

Julie Mabe, RN

Alan Ferguson, Community Member

John Grey, PE

Dr. Ryan Snipes, OD

Courtney Alston Wilson, Community Member

Dr. Carri Hampton, DVM

*Email to Board of Health members routed through the Clerk to the Board



Board of Health Meeting Information


Important Announcement: The January 10th Board of Health meeting will only be live streamed. View on YouTube.


View Full Announcement 

The Board of Health meets the second Monday at 6:00 p.m. during the months of January, March, May, July, September, and November. View Meeting on Facebook or YouTube

A special meeting may be called during other months.  The public comment period will be limited to 15 minutes at the  beginning of the meeting.  If more time is required it will be at the discretion of the Board.  Each speaker must give his/her name both orally and in writing before speaking.  Speakers will be limited to 3 minutes.  Comments are to be directed to the Board as a whole and not to one individual member.  Response, discussion or action concerning issues raised during the public comment session will be at the discretion of the Board.  Speakers will be courteous in their language and presentation.  Speakers should focus on matters which concern public health.


Board of Health Meeting Dates – 2021: 

  • *  Meetings are held in the 1909 Randolph County Historic Courthouse Meeting Room, 145-C Worth Street, Asheboro, NC 27203 at 6:00 pm unless otherwise posted.


  • Note: The November 8 meeting will take place at Randolph County Community College, JB & Claire Davis Training Center, CEIC Room 148, 629 Industrial Park Ave., Asheboro, NC 27205. Time 6:00 pm.


  • •    Monday, January 11, 2021
  • •    Monday, March 8, 2021
  • •    Monday, May 10, 2021
  • •    Monday, July 12, 2021
  • •    Monday, September 13, 2021
  • •    Monday, November 8, 2021 at RCC


Meeting Minutes 2020

Meeting Minutes 2019

January 3, 2019

January 14 2019

February 26, 2019

March 7 2019

May 13 2019

July 11 2019

Sept 9 2019

November 14 2019


Meeting Minutes 2018

January 25, 2018

March 8, 2018

May 14, 2018

September 10, 2018

October 23,  2018

November 7, 2018



Meeting Minutes 2017

February 2, 2017

March 13, 2017

May 22, 2017

July 24, 2017

September 11, 2017

November 13, 2017


Meeting Minutes 2016

January 11, 2016

March 14, 2016

May 9, 2016

July 13, 2016

September 12, 2016

November 14, 2016