HLPC Banner

The Commission serves as Randolph County's official body to identify, preserve, and protect Randolph County's historic landmarks, and to educate the public about those resources as well as historic preservation in general.

  • Natural heritage and related historical landmarks are some of Randolph County's most valued and important assets.
  • The conservation and preservation of historical landmarks can enhance the quality of life for residents and can foster economic development by helping to sustain heritage tourism resources.

The Historic Landmark Preservation Commission Board meets on the 4th Wednesday of the month.  Meeting time is 6:00 pm at the Historic Courthouse located at 145 Worth St., Asheboro, NC.  


Meeting Minutes 

Report on Monuments


Historic Landmark link          Cultural Heritage Sites link


Visit the HLPC Playlist on the Randolph County YouTube Channel



Commission Members

Representation Member    
County Library Director Ross Holt  
Commissioner Appointee District 1 Don Simmons  
Commissioner Appointee District 2 Dan Warren  
Commissioner Appointee District 3 Warren Dixon, Vice Chair  
Commissioner Appointee District 4 Hal Pugh  
Commissioner Appointee District 5 Lynne Qualls  
At-large Member Chip Womick  
At-large Member Mac Whatley, Chair  
At large Member Bill Ivey  
Alternate Member Robyn Hankins  



The Randolph County Public Library provides the administrative responsibility for the Historic Landmark Preservation Commission. The Public Library is located at 201 Worth Street Asheboro, NC 27203.     map

Telephone:  336.318.6806

Clerk to the HLPC: rchlpc@randolphcountync.gov