Public Library Board of Trustees


  • 4 pm
  • 2nd Thursday of January, April, July, and October (quarterly)
  • Asheboro Public Library


  • Lydia Craven
  • Stephen Grove
  • Ralph L. Hardison, Chair
  • Tami Hinshaw
  • Carol Lowe, Vice-Chair
  • Sarah Shoffner
  • Sue Spencer
  • Martha Stunda
  • Richard Wells

Board Overview

The Randolph Public Library Board of Trustees consists of nine members appointed by the Board of Commissioners to six year terms, and represent the county geographically. Ex officio (non-voting) members include: County Library Director and Assistant Director; a liaison representing the Asheboro City Council, appointed by their mayor; and a liaison representing the Friends of the Library, appointed by their president.

The Trustees serve as a bridge of communication between the community and the library, and as such, solicit input concerning the library from patrons. The Trustees, in their role as advocates, aid in presenting the library perspective to local, state and federal lawmakers. The Trustees approve:

  • Administer the Library Trust Fund
  • Establish a schedule of fines and charges for the late return of, failure to return, damage to and loss of library materials
  • Library Policies
  • serve as the final authority concerning the disposition of any library materials challenged in writing in accordance with library procedures as being objectionable 

The Trustees also may request a performance evaluation of the Library Director from the County Manager.

Visit the Library website.