Deferment is the postponement of a partial tax payment until such time that a disqualifying event occurs. Upon disqualification, taxes which have been deferred will be collected for the current year, three prior years, and charged applicable interest.
Circuit Breaker - Under this program, taxes for each year are limited to a percentage of the qualifying owner’s income. A qualifying owner must either be at least 65 years of age or be totally and permanently disabled. For an owner whose income amount for the previous year does not exceed the income eligibility limit for the current year, which for the 2020 tax year is $31,000 the owner’s taxes will be limited to four percent (4%) of the owner’s income. For an owner whose income exceeds the income eligibility limit ($31,000) but does not exceed 150% of the income eligibility limit, which for the 2020 tax year is $46,500, the owner’s taxes will be limited to five percent (5%) of the owner’s income.
Present Use - The North
Legislature enacted a program entitled the "Land Use Program"
which is designed to give tax relief to specific landowners for
property that is being used for the production of agricultural,
horticultural or forest products. The land meeting the
eligibility requirements is taxed on the present-use value
instead of market value of the land.
Continued Use Affidavit - In non-family transactions, an Affidavit for Continued Use is required for the buyer to retain the Present Use Value deferment. The affidavit must be signed by both buyer(s) and seller(s) as well as all signatures notarized. We will need the signed original mailed or delivered to us (no copies). This affidavit not only allows the property to remain in the PUV program (all qualifications per NCGS 105-277 still must be met, i.e., ownership, income, minimum acreage, sound management, etc.), but it also passes the responsibility of deferred taxes from the seller to the buyer. This form is typically completed at the closing and may be mailed to ATTN: PUV, 725 McDowell Road, Asheboro, NC 27205
Disabled Veteran -
This program excludes up to the first $45,000 of the appraised
value of the permanent residence of a disabled veteran. A
disabled veteran is defined as a veteran whose character of
service separation was honorable or under honorable conditions
and who has a total and permanent service-connected disability
or who received benefits for specially adapted housing under 38
U.S.c.2101. There is no age or income limitation for this
Elderly or Disabled Exclusion - This program excludes from taxation the first $25,000 or 50% (whichever is greater) of assessed value for the permanent residence. Exclusion means some of the value will not be considered when your tax bill is created. If you do not qualify for the program in future years, the excluded value from prior years does not become taxable.
North Carolina General Statutes allow for
certain types of property to be exempt from taxation if they
meet the requirements specified by the statutes. Any owner
claiming this relief, with the exception of the U.S. Government,
the State of North Carolina, and the counties and municipalities
of the State, must file an application for exemption.
The completed application must be filed
with the Revenue Department during the regular listing period,
which is from January 1 through January 31 each year. Late
applications may be considered for good cause through the last
day of the calendar year in which the tax is levied. Any
application received after the calendar year ends cannot be
approved for any reason or circumstance.
Examples of property exempt from taxation are:
- Real and personal property used for religious purposes
(NC General Statute
- Real and personal property used for educational purposes
(NC General Statute
- Real and personal property of religious educational
assemblies used for religious and educational purposes (NC
- Real and personal property used for charitable purposes
(NC General Statute
- Real and personal property used for educational,
scientific, literary or charitable purposes (NC General
- Real and personal property used for charitable hospital
purposes (NC General Statute